South Africa’s victorious Springbok rugby team won the prestigious Laureus Award for Team of the Year.

The awards were distributed in Berlin last night. “We are really touching people’s lives in a way that the government and politicians cannot,” said Bok captain Siya Kolisi. Jacques Nienaber, designated Bok coach Francois Louw, Cheslin Kolbe and Faf de Klerk were also on stage with Kolisi.

The Springboks faced Liverpool’s football team, Mercedes-Benz’s F1 racing team, Spain’s basketball team, the US women’s soccer team and the Toronto Raptors basketball team in the team of the year category.

Inspirational swimming star Natalie du Toit was South Africa’s other nominee for the prestigious sports awards. She was nominated in the sports moments category of the past two decades. 

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.