Pieter-Steph du Toit is certainly the player with most rewards in 2019.

It was only after being named World Rugby Player of the Year that he also walked away with the honors during SA Rugby’s awards night.

In the process, he became only the third South African player – along with Naas Botha and Bryan Habana – to win the title three times. The other nominees in the category were Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe, Makazole Mapimpi and Duane Vermeulen.

The Boks were also rewarded for an excellent year in which they won the Rugby Championship and the World Cup. Rassie Erasmus’ troops were named Team of the Year, while Erasmus walked away with the title as SA Rugby’s top coach.

“Pieter-Steph is one of the Boks’ firefighters and he deserves the award. The 2019 season will forever remain in our memory; thank you Rassie, Siya and the Boks, “said SA Rugby President Mark Alexander.

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit.

SA Rugby’s young player of the year: Herschel Jantjies.

Team of the year: The Springboks.

Coach of the year: Rassie Erasmus.

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.